Stressed out.

Graduation. Whether you are graduating from high school or college graduation seems like the best thing in the world…until it is in your reach. With graduation in just over two months things seem pretty unreal, but the stress is very real. Will I have a job secured by graduation? Will I be able to make it on my own? Where the heck am I going?

In community college I received great advise and that was “don’t plan everything out because life doesn’t account for your plans”. Did I listen to this advise? No. I am a planner; I plan everything out where I’ll be in six months, a year, two years what I’ll have accomplished, but true to the advise my plans are falling apart. In six months I thought I would have a part time job back home in the mental health field gaining experience before going to graduate school in England next September. In two years I was planning to be acquiring sponsorship so that I could stay in the UK longer. This has been a dream of mine for years, but this year my life course changed.

Now that England is out of my mind (for the most part) I’m looking to move somewhere within the continental U.S. Texas seems like the best option because I have family there; I don’t know them but they are there. With a lower than national unemployment rate Texas looks better and better. No state taxes, but there are tolls EVERYWHERE. Austin would be the best place for a young person to move with a median age of about 35 most of the residents here are young; probably due to the job market and the University of Texas at Austin. Although Austin has many pros the living expenses are some of the highest in the state even surrounding cities such as Round Rock have seen a spike in living expense due to the high demand. But will I be able to secure a job (preferably in my field of study) before graduation?

As of lately my lack of experience has literally killed me in the job search, in fact just within  the last 24 hours I have been turned down for three different jobs. Honestly, this upsets me I want to argue the whole “well, if no one hires me how am I supposed to get experience” thing, but I guess my time in college with a supportive Grandfather who allowed me to just be a full time student would have been the best time to gain experience whether it be by working along side professors in the lab or finding a mental health facility that allows interns or volunteers. Unfortunately until recently my GPA wasn’t the best eliminating me from being a research assistant, and I just don’t know this area well and I have no idea where I could get experience although this could be solved by using the internet to find a place. Now it’s too late so my only option is to get a job and volunteer in my free time.

I spoke to my Grandfather earlier, and he agreed to help me out until I can get on my feet so maybe things won’t be too bad, but as a pessimist I will continue to point out my flaws and be negative about literally everything. On a rarely seen positive note I’m very lucky to have someone so supportive in my life whether it be financially or emotionally. All-in-all hopefully I’ll see you soon Austin, and if anyone has any advise for this soon to by graduate with a Bachelors in Psychology please feel free to share!

One thought on “Stressed out.

  1. Jay Colby says:

    I completely understand I’m to graduating in two months and it can be overwhelming at times. But I try to not get so caught in the future and just look at the positive side of I’m actually achieving something amazing that not everyone can say they have done!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment